home company solutions & technologies case studies customer support
solutions & technologies
Home :: solutions & technologies :: methodology

The Ashton Way is a project-based process, and the product of each project is a Web site. The Ashton Way is fundamentally an iterative process. Iterative means that many Activities within the process will be completed in a periodic pattern of iterations, where there are particular goals to be achieved at the end of each iteration.

The Structure of the Ashton Way

The Ashton Way consists of six categories:

Workflows: A Workflow describes all the steps involved in producing a Site. There are two core Workflows: the Small Project Workflow, that describes how to build basic, "cookie cutter" sites, and the Large Project Workflow, that describes how to build more complex sites with custom interactive functionality.

Phases: Each project is built in sequential Phases that describe a grouping of Activities. Each phase has a distinct beginning and end. Because the Ashton Way is iterative, the Activities within each Phase may overlap other Phases.

Roles: The people involved in projects are not represented within the Ashton Way as individuals; rather, they are represented by the Roles they play. On a given project, an individual may be assigned many roles, or maybe only one. On some occasions two or more people will share a role.

Teams: A Team is a grouping of Roles by general responsibilities. Each Team is responsible for a discipline, or category of expertise required to complete projects. All the Teams together are considered the project team.

Artifacts: An Artifact is any work product, including the completed Site, all computer files, paper documents, etc. Computer systems that the project team uses are also considered to be Artifacts.

Activities: An Activity is a task or an event that one or more people (in Roles) perform and complete. For instance a project meeting would be considered an Activity, as well.

   "We Help You Profit from Technology"™